Rooted

I recently celebrated my 50th birthday.  I celebrated with close friends.  At one point of the evening, each of my friends were asked to say something to me–something encouraging, something inspiring,  just something.  A very dear friend who has been with me through some very tough times in my life encouraged me  to go deep.  That was all she said but I knew what she meant.  I needed to go deeper into God’s Word,  even deeper than I had been.  I needed to mine all that  was waiting for me in His Word. 

That word has stuck with me throughout the months.  I have tagged the word ‘deep’ for 2013.  ‘Deep’ is my word for this year.  Deep–not only in His Word but deep into self-examination,  deep into the relationships with my family.  All around deep.

This past month I have been studying the book of Colossians.  I have been drawn to the 6th verse of chapter 2:

So then just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in Him, rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith  as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

That word,  ‘rooted’,  burrowed itself into my brain  alongside  the word, ‘deep’.  The two have become a pair in my thoughts.  Rooted in deep.   This is what I want for myself.  I want to root myself into the deep of His Word.

You are invited to come along for the ride. 

 

This entry was posted in faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

