Eating Healthy

I have always had issues with food. Ever since I can remember I have medicated myself from any hurt with food. Have a day at school? Eat some ice cream. Someone say something mean to you? Eat a couple of cookies (or 3 or 4.) Whenever there was hurt, there was food.

I was never overweight but in my mind I was. This misconstruing of reality culminated in an eating disorder. I struggled for 14 years with that addiction.

When I got married was when I stopped bingeing. Even though I had control over my eating, I still used food as my drug of choice. If I was in pain, I would overdose with sugar or carbs. It has been 15 years since I gained victory over the eating disorder but I still had an unhealthy relationship with food.

I decided last year that I wanted to eat better. I am teetering on the edge of menopause and I have been slowly gaining weight. I wanted to nip this in the bud before it went out of control. I wanted to start eating simple–simple but yummy. But I didn’t know how to do that.

Then in Feb. I saw an infomercial for Jillian Michaels Body Revolution. This package offered work out DVDs (15 of them) plus a meal plan. That was what I wanted! A meal plan! Hopefully, this plan would give me better food options than what I had been choosing.

I have been using this meal plan now for a month and, wow! what a difference. I now like simple. I don’t need to inhale sugar and carbs to soothe me when I am hurting. I still run to food but I ingest better options–one baby step at a time.

I now enjoy salads with simple oil dressings, smoothies with almond milk, ricotta cheese spread on toast with blackberries, oh! the list goes on.

With the better food choices and the exercising, my body has been slowly changing. What is even better is that I feel so much better. No more bloating, yucchy, lethargic feelings. I feel so much better. Seeing that I have been in a downward spiral for the better part of the last five years, this is a much needed breath of fresh air.

This entry was posted in healthy lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

