This’N’That–May 3rd

We are gearing up for the drama festival next week. My kids are members of a drama club for homeschoolers and they have submitted a play into the drama festival. So next week we will travel to the big city (3 hours away) to perform. I have to admit I am a bit nervous. I hate driving in the big city, especially with a monster farm truck. Farm trucks and city parking do not mesh well together.

Anyway, we have been practising this past week–with the club and on our own. We also went swimming this week. This is big news for us. It has been quite awhile since we have endeavored on this kind of adventure. Swimming is an adventure for me because I was a bit self-conscious to be seen in a bathing suit for two reasons. 1) I have gained quite a bit of weight in the past few years and 2) since having cancer surgery my leg is a bit deformed from having them take a chunk of my thigh off as well as a still-vibrant scar. After almost 4 years, though, I thought it was time to suck it up and just get out there in my old lady bathing suit.

I knew that I had to get my kids swimming more because they are not great swimmers and they need more practise. So we went with some friends and had a wonderful time. Caleb and I swam a lap complete with flutter boards. I think this is what we will do during our swim time: swim laps. Our water time was so enjoyable we are doing it again next week.

I have been blog surfing this week and have some links to share.

First, it has come to my attention that James Taylor (the educator, not the singer) is starting a new endeavor of online classes for homeschoolers. He is offering summer classes starting June 3. There are 4 class ages: preschool, elementary, middle school and high school. These are all literature classes plus they are for Orthodox Christians. I have to say that I do wish I was Orthodox Christian as I would love for my children to be involved in these classes

Jeanne has written a well-thought out post on bias. I am new to her blog but I am enjoying her thoughtful posts.

Lastly, I stumbled across this post in my travels and the words hit a little too close to home.

This entry was posted in This'N'That. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

