Going Down a Scary Path

My children all have learning challenges. These challenges show up at different levels in each child but they are there. Tessa has these challenges in spades. Her difficulties to learn has taken my breath away on occasion. You just have to have a conversation with her and know that something just isn’t right. That being said, you just have to have a conversation with her to know that she is a smart cookie. Unfortunately, most people don’t get past the ‘something just isn’t right’ layer and deem her as flakey or dumb.

I am not big on labels but in teaching my children I have discovered that labels come in handy. If you don’t have a label then it is difficult to find a method/curriculum that will work with your child. So through all of my reading and researching, I have come to the conclusion that my children have dyslexia. Emma has it ever so slightly. Caleb, well, his is a bit more noticeable especially now that he is reading harder books. But Tessa has it much more severe than the other two.

It became clear to me when starting to teach Tesssa that there was something more at play here than just dyslexia. I thought it was ADD but all of the professionals told me that she did not have ADD. I knew, though, that there was something else going on here. I just didn’t know what. All I knew was that ‘something’ was making it darned difficult for her to read.

We have been working for the past 5 years to get her to read. There hasn’t been much success. She is still not even close to reading. We have gone through three Orton Gillingham reading programs (OG programs are supposed to be the magic pill for dyslexics) and each time have hit a wall. I know that OG programs do work for some dyslexics (they worked for Caleb) but they do not work for Tessa.

This has been a frustrating and discouraging road. I have wanted to quit many a time. If it wasn’t for the support of my Beloved I think I would have given up a long time ago. Its hard to see that you are doing the right thing when there is next to no progress. It has all come down to faith. I have to lean on faith that this will turn out okay. I have to have faith that Tessa will read one of these days.

In a strange turn of events, I have stumbled upon something that will require even more faith than I have shown in the last 5 years.

And a light bulb has been turned on.

I will explain more in the next blog post.

This entry was posted in homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

