My Lightbulb moment

In the previous post, I talked about our struggle to have our youngest learn to read. We have worked long and hard to no avail. The letter retention and fluency are just not there.

Then, a few months ago, I was wandering through the web when I came upon an article about dyslexia. The characteristics that were listed was Tessa. I followed the link to the Dianne Craft website. I had heard of Dianne Craft but because her program was not Orton Gillingham based I did not give it a second thought.

Until now.

I kept thinking that the OG programs are not working so maybe we need to go down a different path. I read all about Dianne Craft and her programs. She works specifically with people who are dyslexic AND right brained learners. The more I read, the more I began to suspect that Tessa might just be a right brained learner. This might be the ‘something else’ that has prevented Tessa from reading.

I thought and prayed about this for about a month. I decided to buy yet another program.

It has only been two weeds so it is too early to say if this is a success, but I stumbled upon another site that has caused me to go ‘Hmmm.’

I came upon an e-list specifically for homeschool moms of right brain learners. The owner of the list has this website. She is also the author of ‘The Right Side of Normal.” I have bought the book so I will probably writing more about it.

The thing, though, that has give me pause is that this woman advocates ceasing with reading programs–OG or not. She says that trying to teach the right brain learner to read with a left brain method will cause more damage to the child. The best thing to do, according to her, is to just fill the child’s world with print (read alouds, computer reading games, comics, etc) and teach to the child’s strengths. One other thing she said that stood out to me was that most right brained learners read better when they read to themselves rather out loud. When reading out loud, stress over missed words messes up the reading. This is how it is with Tessa. So for the past three days Tessa has been reading from her little reader silently to herself. I have seen a change come over her. She is now asking to read every morning. That has never happened before. This is huge in and of itself.

I don’t know if I am ready to take the ultimate step of faith as to cease using a program. I don’t think I am there yet. I need more time to let this sift through. But I have been encouraged by this e-list. There have been some good suggestions as to how to deal with a child’s inability to read. I am looking forward to reading the book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Lightbulb moment

  1. Valerie says:

    I am beginning to think my son may be dislexic or have some other challenge too. He is nine. He can read silently and enjoys it, but when it comes to reading aloud, he struggles with words that take time to “figure out” (which I think he just skims/passes over when silently reading). I usually let him just read silently these days. He enjoys it, and he comes to me when he needs help with a word.
    He also struggles with spelling. A lot. My husband is dislexic and he is a TERRIBLE speller. đŸ˜¦ I think it’s time I start really looking into other ideas for teaching him spelling.
    I’m sorry, how old is your daughter? And how is her spelling?
    Thanks for the links!

  2. Valerie, dyslexia is genetic so if your husband is dyslexic then it is highly likely that your son may have some reading difficulties. At least, though, he is able to read and he enjoys it. That is a huge plus. My daughter is 10. She is not reading at all so we haven’t gotten to spelling yet.

Leave a Reply

