Great Books Study

We are on the cusp of high school and with that cusp comes jitters, self-doubts, second guesses (and third guesses and fourth guesses) and just plain fear. I will be using this blog to work out my fear, so be prepared of many blog posts in which I talk it all out. This post is the beginning of many such posts.

When I first read The Well Trained Mind one of the things that reached out to me was the Great Books Study that occurs during the High School years. Up until that point I did not know what a Great Book was let alone how to do a study of it but the description of it in the book tickled my autodidactic bibliophile self. This was when I knew that I wanted my children to have a classical education; just to get us to this point.

When Emma was 7 yrs old, I read David Hicks’ book on Classical Education entitled, Norms and Nobility . That book is a doozy to read through. It is good but it is heavy wading. The slogging was worth it, though, just to get to the booklist at the end of the book. Oh, I am a sucker for a good booklist! Hicks’ booklist is for Grade 7 to 12. They are heavy, deep and, in my opinion, to die for. I knew even back then that I wanted to follow these lists for Emma’s high school years.

I have had these booklists in my brain for the past 7 years and they are now ready to come out and be used. Finally!

The problem that I have been wrestling with for the past year is; Okay, now that I have all of these meaty books, what do I do with them? Yes, that is my dilemma; what in the world do I do now?

So for the past few months I have been reading, researching and listening for help, ideas, suggestions on what to do with these books so that I could accurately dub this time a Great Books STudy.

I came across myriad of ideas/suggestions. Now my dilemma is which ones to strike off our plan and which ones to implement. Oh, there is always a dilemma, isn’t there? These are the kind of dilemmas I thrive on, though.

My thought processes will continue on into the next post.

This entry was posted in homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

