Summer Thoughts

When I first started this blog my goal was to have a pretty blog with pretty words and pretty pictures. I am not a picture person but I was determined that this blog was going to be a picture blog. My determination has petered out. It takes time to take pictures, load them into the computer and then transfer them to the blog. It takes a lot of time. Time that I do not have. So, I have resigned myself to the fact that this blog is not going to be a pretty blog with pretty pictures. Rather, it will be a blog full of words. Words of discovery, words of beauty, words of sorrow, words of praise, words of wonder, words of learning, words of mistakes. Lots and lots of words. ‘Cause words are what I do best. Doing what I do best does not take any time at all. The words just flow out of me. Pictures? Not so much.

Now that we have that out of the way. On to summer.

I have been having a delightful summer. Why? Because it hasn’t been overly busy. We have been able to enjoy a slow-rhythm summer this year. Delightful is really the only word that covers it. The girls have been away at camp for the last few weeks. We have been enjoying the farmers market in town. We are getting lots and lots of rhubarb to freeze. We have also been able to snatch up some great books. The library has a table set up at the market. Every week I have come home with a bag of books. We have also been spending time at the creek. our farm land holds a creek that is full of swimming, fishing, camping and exploring. We have taken our trailer down to the creek and have hopes of staying down there for awhile before harvest comes. The kids and I also have plans to have school down there as well.

Which leads us to school. Two more weeks and school will begin. In August? I hear you say. Are you crazy? Yes, to both questions. We have found that, for us, a school year that goes from August to May works out well. I asked the kids if they would like to start in Sept. this year but that would mean that we would have to finish in June. It was unanimous. No way did they want to do school in June. So Aug. 5th will be our first day of our school year. Yes, Aug 5th is a Canadian holiday. It goes back to the crazy thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

