Wednesday With Words

Cindy from Ordo-amoris has a weekly post entitled ” Wednesday With Words.” These posts are to encourage others to share there favourite quotes from their readings of that particular week. I decided to play along this week with a quote from my new favourite book, ‘Desiring the Kingdom’ by James K.A.Smith.

What if education, including higher education, is not primarily about the absorption of ideas and information, but about the formation of hearts and desires? What if we began by appreciating how education not only gets into our head but also (and more fundamentally) grabs us by the gut–what the New Testament refers to as kardia, “the heart”? What if education was primarily concerned with shaping our hopes and passions–our visions of “the good life”– and not merely about the dissemination of data and information as inputs to our thinking? What if the primary work of education was the transforming of our imagination rather than the saturation of our intellect? And what if this had as much to do with our bodies as with our minds?

What if education wasn’t first and foremost about what we know, but about what we love? (pg.18)

And with that itsy bitsy paragraph my whole philosophy of education has been blown out of the water. Oh, there is so much more to come.

This entry was posted in Books, classical education. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wednesday With Words

  1. I was thinking of quoting the latter part of the book next week and Brandy quoted it too 🙂 I was not as much a fan of the middle part but loved the quote you used.

    • I was just over at Brandy’s and saw that we had the same quote! I was a bit disappointed that the middle part of the book might be a bit questionable but I haven’t gotten there yet so my jury is still out 🙂

  2. Stacie says:

    Hallelujah and welcome, Julia! Yes, yes and yes!

    • I knew you would like the quote and the changing of some of my thoughts, Staci. I am not a big information girl, but I am big on ideas. I think ideas are important but I am seeing now that there needs to be a balance between heart (body) and ideas. Maybe the balance needs to be tipped more on the heart side.

  3. Too funny that we chose the same quote. It really did jump off the page, didn’t it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

