Finding My Art Part II

I have shared in a previous post how the interests and passions that I had before children just don’t intrigue me like they used to in days gone by.
So I have been searching to find things that spark an interest in my being.

I tried card making. Painful.

I tried scrapbooking. Ugh. Stressful.

Photography. A failure.

Gardening. Not a total failure but not exactly enjoyable.

I was beginning to think that my lot in life was to be a boring old woman.

Then I read A Million Little Ways by Emily Freeman. This book has been a life changer for me. This book discusses how to discover the art in your life. When the author uses the term ‘art’, she does not mean only painting, drawing or crafting. ‘Art’ could be the cleaning of your house, the baking of cookies for your kids or looking after your neighbours’ kids. Art, in this sense, is the things you do that shows love, God’s love.

There were many ideas put forth in this book that took my breath away. This is one:

And from the inside of us, he declares his own glory.

This is the most powerful kind of worship. This is what it means to be fully alive. Trees may declare God’s glory, but they do not bear his image. Jesus uncovers our remade image-bearing identity and invites us to release our glory-declaring capability.

Being his workmanship doesn’t mean we are all poets. It means we are all poems, individual created works of a creative God. And this poetry comes out uniquely through us as we worship, think, love, pray, rest, work, and exist.

Jesus reminds us we are art and empowers us to make art.

There isn’t only one right way to do the job of glorifying God. There are many ways, a million little ways, that Christ is formed in us and spills out of us into the world. (pg.29)

The things that I do are to display God’s glory. I have been so focused on the things that I can’t do that I have totally discounted the things that I do, like baking bread, making soup, teaching my children, singing, decorating my house, even doing the laundry (when carried out with the right attitude.) All of these things glorify God. All of these things demonstrate the poetry that is inside of me. I am creating through these endeavors. I am showing my art.

Whew! I may not be as boring as I thought.

This entry was posted in living art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

