Break

We are officially on Christmas break. Wahoo! Wahoo!

So begins the Christmas movies, the Christmas baking and finishing up Christmas shopping.

Break also means sleeping in (for the kids. My body still wakes up every morning at 6 or, if I am really lucky, I sleep in until 7,) and reading. I actually get to read during daylight hours. This is a luxury for me. I am so looking forward to be able to read in the afternoon.

I am also hoping to get some more writing time during these school-free hours. I am finding it next to impossible to find any time to blog. My hope is to be able to get some blogging done on a daily basis. We shall see.

Break also means time for prepping for next semester. I did not do well this semester at reading Emma’s assigned books. This failure on my part meant that little discussion was done. I am hoping to do better after Christmas so I have started already on two of her books that she will start in Jan. The one book is Letters to a Young Scientist written by Edward O. Wilson. I am finding this quite intriguing. I am also attempting to make notes from my reading–another area in which I fail. I also have to read up on Traditional Logic from Memoria Press. Emma will be starting that in Jan. so I really have to get my act together for this subject. It would be really tempting to just give her the books and let her go to it but I don’t want to be that kind of teacher for logic. I want us to go through it together and discuss (I am beginning to really dislike that word.)

Even though this is officially called ‘break.’ I can see from the above list that the next 3 weeks will be a busy time for me. I hope that I get everything done.

This entry was posted in family, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

