Harold Fry

I just finished The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry written by Rachel Joyce. I haven’t heard many positive things about this book but I was intrigued by the cover and the title so I thought I would take a chance on it. I think this is going to go on my Top 10 Reads of 2013. I am sure that there are many of you shaking your heads at this. I agree. The writing isn’t stellar nor is the story that unique, so why did it strike a nerve?

Well, it all has to do with Harold. I loved Harold. I loved his quiet, unassuming manner. I loved his awakening. I loved his compassion to those around him and I loved how he and his wife came together at the end. I will admit that I did not appreciate how the author emotionally manipulated me towards the end of the book. Call me simple but I did not see that coming. With that aside, though, I did enjoy Harold’s journey.

This quote stuck out to me, so much so that I put it in my commonplace book.

It must be the same all over England. People were buying milk, or filling their cars with petrol or even posting letters. And what no one knew was the appalling weight of the thing they were carrying inside. The inhuman effort it took sometimes to be normal and a part of things that appeared both easy and everyday.”

These words resonated with me as it has been brought to my attention lately that we have no idea what other people are going through. We all paste a smile on our faces and pretend everything is okay when, in reality, our hearts are breaking into tiny pieces.

Maybe that is why I liked Harold so much–I was brought into his heartbreak but I was also able to see how the pieces were put back together. Harold’s story was one of hope.

I am linking up with Cindy’s Wednesday with Words.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harold Fry

  1. Cindy says:

    I often am ready to buy a book when I read a negative review and change my mind. In fact, in order to stop myself from buying some books I purposely read the negative reviews 🙂 And yet the very often the books I do like are not popular.

    The quote also resonates with me. It is a monumental task to be normal….

  2. I’m intrigued! I think I’m going to have to check this book out.

Leave a Reply

