Books That Have Stayed With Me

There is a book meme going around on Facebook. I don’t post much on FB but I thought I would do it here on the blog. So the rule is to list 10 books that have stayed with you throughout your life. They don’t have to be great books or well-written but just books that have meant something to you long after you have read it.

My list is: (in no particular order)

1) One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp

2) A Million Little Ways by Emily P. Freeman

3) Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

4) Socrates Café by Christopher Philips

5) Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

6) The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

7) Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

8) The Office of Assertion by Scott Crider

9) Desiring the Kingdom by James K.A. Smith

10) We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

As the rules stated, some of these books are not ‘great’ books but they have stayed with me over the years. They have affected me and caused me to think. Hence, their position on this list. A few on the list are there just because they emotionally manipulated me. That manipulation has caused me to continue thinking about them long after I closed their covers. A prime example is ‘Her Fearful Symmetry’. Not the best book but the ending freaked me out so much I am still thinking about that book 4 years after I finished it.

Another example is ‘We Need to Talk About Kevin’. This book deals with school shootings. Timing is important here because I read this book a few weeks before the Sandy Hook school shooting last year. I was haunted by both the book and the crime for months after. The book also gave me compassion for the shooter’s family.

Oh, I love talking about books! I could list 10 more that have stayed with me throughout the year but I will stop now.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books That Have Stayed With Me

  1. Cassie says:

    I want to hear more about what you think of Her Fearful Symmetry. I thought this was the strangest book….ever. I do definitely remember it though.

Leave a Reply

