Things That I Have Learned in December

Even though December was a quiet, simple month of Advent celebration, I still learned quite a few things.

1) Tom Courtenay is not the man I thought he was. Let me explain. I always thought the actor Tom Courtenay, who won an Academy Award for his role in The Dresser was a cute man with a delightful accent. I can’t remember if he had a British accent or not but I loved to hear him talk. I would see him in various roles throughout the years and always put the name ‘Tom Courtenay’ to his face. This month I watched the movie, The Quartet, starring Maggie Davis and Tom Courtenay. I was excited to see this man again as it had been awhile since I had seen him in a movie. Well, we were halfway through the movie and I was till waiting for my Tom Courtenay to show up. I googled his name and found out that, yes indeed he was in that movie and he was the male lead but he was not the Tom Courtenay that I thought he was. Huh. Well, that was perplexing. Who was the guy that I thought was Courtenay? As I was typing this out, the name Tom Conti popped into my brain. I googled it (don’t ya just love Google?) and, lo and behold, there was my Tom Courtenay. I don’t know how I got the two names mixed up as Tom Conti was never in The Dresser. The mind is a scary thing.

2) I have finally figured out my mistake in teaching writing to my children. I’m not going to go in detail on this mistake as I want to write about it later on but suffice it to say that I followed advice that, I can see now, was not the right advice to follow. I am hoping that it is not too late to rectify my mistake.

3) A simple Advent season is much better than all the running and scurrying I used to do during what I used to term ‘the Christmas season.’ We didn’t do much this past month except read, rest and wait for the coming of the Christ child. This, truly, was a meaningful season for all of our family.

4) Soup is the comforter of all things. I knew this before but I have been reminded of this during the past month. I first knew the healing properties of soup when I had cancer 4 years ago. I made soup every week and the aroma of broccoli or cauliflower soup soothed my soul. For the past few months, my family has encountered a fairly big life bump that has messed us up a bit. Bring out the soup bowls! The warm, thick smells of soup have wrapped themselves around me and have smoothed out the bumps. I have discovered some new types of soup like Chicken Pot Pie (a glorified chicken soup,) lasagna soup, corn chowder, minestrone and Cheese Tortellini soup. I make it once a week and then everything is all right with my world.

5) The TV show, Once Upon a Time, isn’t so bad after all. I resisted for a long time, though. It has been on the air for 3 years but I would not watch it. I really don’t know why. I don’t have a plausible reason other than I just didn’t watch it. I kept hearing everyone around me talk about it in excited tones but I still refused to sit down with it. I caved in the beginning of Dec. It was interesting, so interesting that I asked for the previous seasons for Christmas. I was given Season 2. Hmmm, should I wait until I can get my hands on the first season or just dive right in. Waiting has never been my strong suit (hence, the word of the year for 2013: be still) so I started watching Season 2. Well, I can see where some people might have grave objections to this show but I am really liking it. I am fairly certain that the people who make this show are the same people who made Lost. There are many similarities between the two, right up to the music that ends each segment. I have Season 1 on its way to me now from Amazon.

If you would like to see what other people have learned during the month of December, go to Chatting at the Sky.

This entry was posted in Things that I have learned. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Things That I Have Learned in December

  1. anne says:

    I have been thinking about watching Once Upon a Time because I love, love, love Robert Carlyle. I’m glad to hear you are enjoying it.

  2. I am curious to hear about your mistake in teaching writing!

Leave a Reply

