Back at it

I always look forward to the Christmas holidays. Because it’s winter, I don’t have to work outside so I can spend my days leisurely. That translates into reading and playing on the computer–doing things I don’t normally get to do during the school year. This year’s Christmas holiday was just as good as those in the past. We played oodles of games, watched a few movies and read some books (not as many as I had hoped to read, though.) I was able to sleep in and eat homemade Bits’n’Bites (oh, they are yummy!)

Due to the warm fuzzies of this holiday time I have to say that I was not looking forward to starting back to school this week. I wasn’t ready to get up at 6:00 a.m. nor was I ready to have most of my time consumed by school and chauffeuring kids to their activities. I just wasn’t ready.

So Monday morning came way too soon for me but I had no choice but to get up and get on with it. We had our breakfast (scones and yogourt) in the living room while I started Morning Time. We read I Kings 1,2, talked about what makes a good king, recited scripture verses as well as the poem, O Captain, My Captain. We read about Shakespeare’s use of iambic pentameter and then segued into dactylic hexameter that is found in Homer’s The Odyssey. We played a few rounds of Mad Libs and then read the first chapter from The Odyssey–the next book on our Great Book list.

As we moved through MT, I felt like I had just returned home from a vacation. Even though the vacation was wonderful, it was comforting to get back into the rhythm of every day life. It felt so good to be back home.

This entry was posted in family, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

