Habits of a Book Geek

In which I out myself at just how geeky(and plain weird) I am when it comes to books.

I noticed that a pile of books were going to come my way on Friday at the library. That feeling of excitement and comfort both began to flutter about inside my being. Yes, I get excited about having books at the library. The thought of burying myself in someone elses story incites joy deep inside of me.

So I set off towards town, braving snow flurries and white-outs (neither sleet nor rain will be keep me from my books) and picked up my pile of books. Turning around quickly (white-outs in no mans land can be scary, trust me,) we made our way back home to really get into the books.

Okay, now this is where the geekiness comes into play. Brace yourselves.

I have a little routine that I carry out whenever I get new books–new from the library or new from the store, it does not matter. I sit myself down on the couch, complete with a hot drink and a cozy blanket, and begin my ritual. Taking one book at a time, I read the back cover to see what others have to say about this book. I read the inside covers to read what the book is about (I usually already know what the book is about but I like to refresh my memory) and find out about the author. Many times, I am reading a new-to-me author so I like to become acquainted with him or her. I, then, crack open the pages. I read the copyright (do not know why but this is important to me.) I read the dedication. I read any quotes that may grace the first few pages. I read any notes that the author may have for me. Heading off to the back of the book, I see if there are any notes, reading guides, acknowledgements or other little goodies that the author has left for me to enjoy. Before I set the book down, I take a quick peak at the first page. I may even read the first two pages just to get a glimpse of what will be waiting for when I actually take up the book to read it.

Then I move on to the next book to carry out the same rhythm with all of its offerings.

I enjoy this time with my books. I enjoy getting to know the author and the story even before I sit down to read it. This has been a habit of mine for over 30 years, a habit that has become part of me and has enriched my reading experience.

So, here is my list of books that I brought home with me:

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer. I found this book on a few lists of the best books of 2013. Since finding the book on that list, I have heard contradicting reports, so I am not sure how I will like it. It is a big book, which means slow going for me.

One Summer: America 1927 by Bill Bryson. I am a big Bryson fan but the interest of this book goes mostly towards the theme of the book. Since reading The Aviators Wife, I have been on a rabbit trail of all things Charles Lindbergh, this book contains info about Lindbergh, hence, it will help me along on my trail.

The Burgess Boys by Elizabeth Strout. I saw this book on the library shelf and I snatched it up before anyone could beat me to it. I read Strouts Olive Kittredge a few years ago and fell in love with Olive. Anyone who can makes me fall in love with a character deserves my trust that she can do it again with another book.

The same thing with Perfect by Rachel Joyce. I read The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by this same author and was quite moved by Harold Joyce. When I saw Perfect sitting right beside The Burgess Boys, I swept in and grabbed both of them.

Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. I have seen this movie but have never had the desire to read the book. I saw the title on a book list last year and decided to put it on my TBR list.

Howards End is on the Landing by Susan Hill. I have heard of this book quite often recently by people whose book sense I trust. This is a book about books. I love those kinds of reads. Ms. Hill decided to take a year and read only the books that she had in her own house. She could not buy any new books during that time. Oh, how painful! This has got me to thinking that I could probably do this but to read all of the unread books in my house it would probably take me at least 2 years. I have another bad habit.

Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan. This Canadian book has been in my sight for the last little while but its inclusion in the Canada Reads debate (I am having problems with some of my computer keys so I cannot give you a link, sorry) moved me to read it now.

And that is it. My pile. I have about 8 books on the librarys hold list so I do not know when they might actually come my way plus I have 60 books on My Book List app (instead of writing all of the books titles that I want to read on paper, I put the titles on this app, it is quite handy.) just waiting to ordered from the library.

Life is good.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

