February Daybook

Outside my window is nothing but white and gray–white from the snow on the ground and gray from the sky, Oh, and cold. Freezing, burry, bone-chilling cold.

I am thankful for oh-so-many things: for chocolate chip cookies that finally turned out well, for kids that still like to read with me. for kids that still like to play games with me, for books that have immersing, all-encompassing (there is that blasted hyphen again–proof that I use it way too much) stories, for quiet, still spaces nestled in amongst the crazy busy of everyday life.

I am thinking about a lot of things, actually. I am thinking of the paper that Emma needs to write for her online class. I am thinking of how friendships change, evolve, disappear.

Learning all the time– I have learned this month that Emma is becoming a very good writer. We still have to work on the thinking part that comes before the writing but the actual writing, the word choice part, well, she has that down well.

I am hoping that my mom will have her surgery soon. She had her pre-op appointment before Christmas and she was told that the surgery date would be be within 6 to 8 weeks from that. Well, 8 weeks will be next week and no sign of a date. So we are all waiting on pins and needles; my mom because, well, it is surgery and me because then I have to hurry about getting a plane ticket and planning things for those that I will leave behind.

I am reading Howards End is on the Landing by Susan Hill. It is a book on books. I like this genre of book but this one is not at the top of my list for this type of book. Next up is One Summer America 1927 by Bill Bryson.

I am hearing silence. The two youngest are at the cabin with their dad for a sleepover and the oldest is still sleeping.

Around the house I have put it off long enough but this house needs a thorough, life-changing cleaning. I went into the basement last week (I rarely go down there because I know how horrid it is and I like my life of denial, it is comforting) and reality bit me hard. I need to get moving on this.

Plans for the week contain skating with some homeschool friends, a dentist appt. for Caleb (he has to have 2 teeth taken out to make room for future mouth plans) youth group (the kids will be going to the leaders house for a night of games) and no gymnastics (Wahoo!) I will also be cleaning my house. Maybe I should put that in double just to make sure it helps. I will be cleaning my house. Yes, I will make this into my mantra for the week: I will be cleaning my house. If nothing else happens at least the words were uttered.

This entry was posted in Daybook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

