They Actually Have a Word for This

I have had a life-altering discovery this past week. That sounds a tad bit dramatic, doesn’t it?

I have learned that the incessant, annoying nattering taken on by my sweet boy actually has a name. It doesn’t matter what the topic is, he just can’t seem to help himself; he has to always have the first, middle and last word. The word can be humorous, serious or sarcastic. Again, it doesn’t matter as long as the words are his. The recipients are usually his sisters but sometimes I am the one who gets in the crossfire of those words.

I was so relieved to hear that this malady has a name. I thought this picking on was a result either by a character deficiency or a failure of mothering on my part. But no! it appears that this is common among young men. Can you hear me yelling this all the way to where you are? This is common! It is called the Rooster Syndrome–the young male pecks at any female within physical proximity to him.

I know. The Rooster Syndrome? Who thinks of these things? But to a tense-filled mom who has been dealing with this for the last 6 months, I will take any silly name they give me as long as it explains some things. I will even go so far as to say that there were tears in my eyes as I read about this. There have been days where I have lamented the fact that I wasn’t able to have another boy. I thought the nattering was a result of being around females all of the time. Then that segued into second guessing the homeschooling decision–if he was in school with other boys, then maybe all of this craziness would have been non-existent. On the really bad days, though, I had him married and divorced 3 times in his adulthood because, honestly, what sane woman would put up with this?

All of this fearful forecasting, though, was for naught because it’s just a phase. Praise the Lord! A phase! (insert maniacal giggle here.) All I have to do now is gather up a large supply of chocolate, lift up prayers for his survival and my sanity, and breathe in, breathe out. That’s all.

This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

