Wednesday With Words

I know there are many people who do not like Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I understand that. I think that if I had had a different life I would not have liked it, either. But my specific life experiences have laid me bare to be struck deep by this book. I read it for the first time about 6 years ago. It has stayed with me ever since. I have been slowly re-reading it for the past few months. I read these words last week. They have hit me hard.

In this passage she is talking about meditation and quieting your mind.

The other problem with all this swinging through the vines of thought is that you are never where you are. You are always digging in the past or poking at the future but rarely do you rest in the moment. If you’re looking for union with the Divine, this kind of forward/backward whirling is a problem. There’s a reason they call God a presence–because God is right here, right now. In the present is the only place to find Him and now is the only time.

Come join us at Ordo Amoris for Wednesday With Words.

This entry was posted in Books, Wednesday With Words. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday With Words

  1. Stacie says:

    I very much enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love as well. Lots of wonderful quotes to underline and remember!

    I’ve been deepening my learning about meditation this winter and practising it consistently, and it is a powerful tool. It is SO challenging to sustain focus and find any stillness with this busy monkey mind of mine! I see the progress, though, and the positive effects throughout my day and my life. Your post has inspired me to find my copy of Eat, Pray, Love and reread the section on her adventures with meditation. Thank you!

  2. Amy @ Hope Is the Word says:

    I’ve never read the book, but I can definitely relate to the quote you’ve shared. Thanks.

  3. Cindy says:

    While I did not technically agree with the book, I did find some of it interesting and insightful as your selection illustrates so well.

  4. This is how I feel about it as well, Cindy. Those little gems that are sprinkled throughout the book are what makes me return to it’s pages.

Leave a Reply

