February Reads

February has been a heavy-duty month for me, one where the emotions have been thick and dense so I have not had the cerebral fortitude to deal with anything that even looks like intellectual material. It has been pure fluff all of the way for the past month. And you know what? I am okay with that. I need fluff right now. Heck, I crave it. I don’t want to analyze or ponder about anything right now. I just want to immerse myself in someone else’s story and forget mine for an hour or two. That is what I got for the month of February.

So here are the stories that I read:

The Interestings by Meg Wollitzer. This one was a dud. I should have expected this because it was on many book magazine’s Top Books for 2013. Those books that are top-listed are usually the ones that fall dead for me. This one was no exception. It was a hefty tome of nothingness. I really do not know why the author wrote this story.

Howards End is on the Landing by Susan Hill. This is a book about books. I usually love these types of book but this one fell a bit short for me and I can’t really tell you why. I did like reading about the little tidbits she wrote about the authors she was reading. Literary gossip, how fun!

Flora and Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo. DiCamillo is the author of The Tale of Desperaux. Desperaux is my favourite book of all time. I love Desperaux. We start our school year off with a reading of his book, every. year. So I was expecting big things from Flora. When we first started it I thought this was the stupidest book I had ever read. But then my opinion slowly began to change. Flora is not at the same level as Desperaux, not even close but it is also not at the bottom of the heap as The Interestings is. It is comfortably in the middle of the scale.

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. I enjoyed this book immensely. There is a movie made based on this book starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson and as I was reading the book, I could see Hopkins and Thompson clearly in their roles. It was as if Ishiguro wrote these characters specifically for these actors.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

