What I Have Learned in February

Come join us at Chatting at the Sky to find out all that has been learned in the past month.

The things that I have learned during the month of February:

1) There can be a joy found in journaling. I would like to explore this more in the upcoming month but due to all of the hubbub about Laurie Bestvater’s book, The Living Page, I have become quite keen about notebooking and journaling. I have even started a daily journal/notebook to keep notes, reminders on things that are happening day to day. We have started back up with a nature notebook as well. I would love to get my hands on this book but, alas, it is not available in Canada. I think I will throw frugality to the wind and order it from the Americans and pay the blasted shipping. Oh! the things I do for books.

2) Due to this post by Sarah, I began a looping menu. I have become very slack with my menu prep. The day’s menu is thought about an hour before the event and then scurrying ensues as I try to figure out what we can indeed have based on the food that I actually have in the house. I do not like this. It is stressful. In my ‘be still’ attempt, this does not work out well. So I have come up with a way to help lessen the stress of dinner prep and still give me variety. I have given each day a name. Saturdays are pizza/hamburger day, Sundays are fast food day, Mondays are soup day, crockpot days fall on Tuesdays and Wednesdays find themselves to be chicken or hamburg days. Thursdays and Fridays are leftover days because we are gone at night and I don’t have time to make a meal. So, for these days I have listed meals that fall under these categories. I have listed 9 meals for each category. For the first week, I make the meal that is at the top of each category. The second week; the second items in each category, etc. Then when we are on the ninth week, we will go back to the top of the list and loop through it all over again. When spring comes (if it ever does) I will make some changes to reflect the season. So far, this is working out quite nicely.

3) I have also learned to do this looping thing with housework as well. I made a list of all of the housecleaning duties. Whenever a chunk of time pops up, then I will make my way through the list. When I get to the bottom of the list then I go back to the top and go through it all over again. This works well on weeks like last week because we were home most of the week so I had time to go through the list but this week was a busy one so the house did not get a thorough cleaning. So I am not too sure if looping will work for me in regards to a clean house.

4) Herodotus isn’t such a hard read after awhile. We have started Harodotus’ Histories this past week. I have been dreading this as I thought it would be a dry journey through the Persian War. I was wrong. It is quite interesting reading all of his stories of the various players in the Persian War. The kids are enjoying it as well. We aren’t reading the whole book, rather, I am taking out bits and pieces that I think we will enjoy hearing about. Even Caleb is listening. That is saying a lot for Herodotus.

5) The Waltons are an interesting show to watch after all. When I was a kid, I thought the Waltons was such a boring show. Give me the Bionic Woman or even Little House on the Prairie but forget John Boy (who calls their child John Boy or Jim Bob, anyway?) Well, we have started watching The Waltons. I have to admit I am able to appreciate this family much more now that I am old. John Boy and Mary Ellen still drive me crazy but I am enjoying the stories they tell. I absolutely love Grandpa and Daddy Walton. Even though Grandma Walton is grumpy, I like her as well.

Come join us at Chatting at the Sky to find out what others have learned this past month.

This entry was posted in Things that I have learned. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Have Learned in February

  1. Amy @ Hope Is the Word says:

    I love The Waltons! (Even John Boy but not so much Mary Ellen. 🙂 ). Have you read the book it’s based on?

  2. Amy, lol, I can’t even handle John Boy. I was relieved when he went off to New York. I didn’t know there was a book. I knew that the series was based on the life experiences of Earl Hamner but I didn’t realize there was a book. I will have to look into that.

Leave a Reply

