Odds and Ends From the Week

This past week has been one of fluttering and upheaval.

After a wait of 10 months, My mom is finally scheduled to have heart surgery. We are so relieved that it is going to become a reality. Mom has not being feeling well at all this past year and has spent a huge amount of time in the hospital. She is more than ready for this operation.

This means that I will be traveling over a few provinces to stay with my parents, help my mom in her recuperation and cook for my dad. I am looking forward to seeing my parents but I am leaving a very sad little girl behind. When I told her that the time for me to leave might be coming fairly soon, she was transformed into a puddle on the floor. Later on, when I told her the solidified plans, I expected the puddle routine but was met with only a few stray tears. Five minutes later she confided that she thought she handled that quite well. Compared to the reaction of earlier, I agreed with her.

Then came the equally difficult task of trying to book a flight. Oh my word! If airplane companies want to garner more business, they need to make it easier to fly. In order to reach my destination, I need to go east. There is not a direct flight from where I live to where my parents live so I have to fly west first to the nearest big city airport, wait for 4 hours then fly 5 hours to the airport that is the closest to my parents. So I will be leaving my home at 9:00 in the morning and will reach my parents’ home the next morning at, approximately, 3:00 a.m. I am looking forward to this. (insert sarcastic tone of voice here.)

The up side to this wasted time is that I will have oodles and oodles of time to read on that day. I have planned to bring Goldfinch by Donna Tartt with me to read while I am on the plane and in the airport. That baby is 700 pages long. I am hoping to carry out a chunk of that book on my traveling day.

Oh, I forgot. I was supposed to tell you about the week that happened and I got distracted with the week that is still to come.

Hmmm. Let’s see. Well, we have had snow four days out of the last five. This means that we got to stay home all week. It didn’t seem like there was a lot of snow but the roads were a mess so I guess there was more than I thought. The bad weather made it possible for me to read The Circle by Dave Egger. This is a 500 page fiction book about an Apple-like company. This has wisps of 1984 and Brave New World through it. I have to get this book done by Monday, before I go out east. Its competing with cleaning the house before I go and making meals for the ones that are staying behind. Guess what is winning out? Procrastination is alive and well in my world. 🙂

This entry was posted in family, This'N'That. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

