March Daybook

After two weeks away from all that I hold dear, I am finally home! Everyone said, “Oh, that went by fast!” That’s because it wasn’t happening to them. Those two weeks went by very, very slowly. Very. Don’t get me wrong, I had a great visit with my parents but the missing my kids made life go by in slow motion. My mom had open heart surgery and the surgery itself went well but there were complications and she had to go back into the hospital. I am not sure that this whole episode is behind us. I think there may still be more to come. sigh

Outside my window– the snow has melted but that is the only indication that it is spring. It is a dark, gloomy day today but my silver lining is that I can hear the birds singing spring into reality.

I am thankful for– oh-so-many things–for a husband who takes such good care of our children and home while I am away, for children who did the laundry, experimented with cooking while I was away, for hugs and more hugs from little girls who missed their mama, for quiet, non-drama days.

From the kitchen– not much. Before I do anything in this room I have to clean it. Yes, it was cleaned before I came home but it was kid-cleaned and that type of cleaning does not stand a long test of time.

I am thinking– of my mom. She has had such a difficult year. I pray that things will start turning around for her and she can begin to heal emotionally from all that has come her way in the past year.

I am creating– notebooks. I just finished reading The Living Page by Laurie Bestvater on how notebooks a la Charlotte Mason is a strong foundation to a good education. I would like to carry some of this on into our learning time. For right now, I am creating mentally to figure out how this could all play out in real time. I am hoping to get to town some time this coming week to peruse notebooks and choose the ones we want to start with.

I am hoping– for calm. The last two weeks were emotionally exhausting for me. I am hoping that this next week will be one of peace and stillness.

I don’t ever want to forget the feeling I had as I watched Tessa perform her individual floor routine at her gymnastics finale yesterday. She carried out her routine with such beauty and grace. What I saw yesterday made her struggles fade into the shadows. I was the only parent there who had tears streaming down her face as she watched her child perform. If they only knew, though, what we have gone through to get to this place.

I am reading– a few things: The Liberal Arts Tradition: A Philosophy of Christian Classical Education by Kevin Clark and Ravi Scott Jain, Wonderstruck by Margaret Feinberg. I am putting in time until tomorrow, when I go to the library. I have 8 books waiting for me there.

In the schoolroom well, there isn’t anything really happening in the schoolroom. The kids continued on with school while I was gone but they did it at half speed and Tess, well, she didn’t get much done at all cause she still needs her mom to do school. We have not done much in the way of academics in the past month but I just don’t have the gumption to get back at it right now. I am tired, people, just plain tired. So I think we will take this coming week off and shore up for the week after. I am seeing year round school for us this year. Again, sigh.

We are watching Frozen. Over and over and over again. I brought the DVD back with me from Ontario and Tessa has watched it 5 times in the past three days. She loves this movie. We are talking all things Frozen this week. I also brought back the DVD Saving Mr. Banks. My Beloved and I watched this at the theatre but I thought the kids would like it as well. Emma quite enjoyed it as did Tessa. Caleb? Well, Caleb is not a movie guy so his lukewarm ‘it’s okay’ is high praise indeed.

Plans for the week– nothing. Oh! That word brings tears to my eyes. Happy tears. We are going to read, take long walks, search for spring, make granola, just be.

This entry was posted in Daybook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

