March Reads

I read quite a few books this month due to being childless for two weeks.

Perfect by Rachel Joyce. Joyce is the author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Joyce. I loved Harold. I liked this book as well just not on the same level. I will definitely read another Joyce novel, whenever she writes one.

The Circle by Dave Eggers. A strange kind of read. It is reminiscent of 1984 and A Brave New World. The Circle is a commentary on how technology and social media has and will effect our lives. I quite liked it as it gave me much food for thought.

Wildwood by Colin Meloy. I read this to Tessa. She is enamored with it. Me? Well, not so much. I love the writing. You can get lost in the descriptions. My problem with it is that it is the beginning of a trilogy. My history with trilogies is that the first insertion pulls you in until you’re hooked, then gradually with the second and third installment, the author leads you into a world where you are not comfortable in. A world in which you second guess whether you should be there at all, it’s too late, though, cause you are hooked. In Wildwood, there are hints of nature being god, hints of mysticism, hints of a different worldview. This is okay for me but for an 11 year old, well, there needs to be careful plodding.

Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. I absolutely loved this story! Yes, it was long, way too long. But I fell deep into Theo’s story, his story of loss–I was right there with him.

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. Meh. It was okay.

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley. This is the 6th Flavia de Luce story. You would think by this time the reader would be boorishly tired of this 11 yr. old chemistry-obsessed girl. But Bradley does a brilliant job of telling Flavia’s story so that you don’t have an opportunity to get bored. I have to admit that I had a pre-conceived idea of how the 6th book was going to start. Bradley gave me that notion from the ending of the 5th book. I quickly deduce, though, that I have been tricked. The beginning did not begin the way I thought it was going to. I was not impressed by Bradley’s trickery but he quickly turned the story around so that I came to love it–the beginning, the middle and the end. Alan Bradley knows how to tell a good story.

The Living Page by Laurie Bestvater. I am going to blog about this later as I was inspired by the writing and the knowledge found amongst the book’s pages. Bestvater writes expertly on notebooking a la Charlotte Mason.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

