April Reads

Even with all the brou-ha-ha that has been bubbling around our house, I was still able to get some reading in. Here is what has been on my pile:

Medea by Euripedes. The kids and I read this as part of our Great Books read. I think this play was the most powerful for Emma. We discussed this one quite a bit and it seemed to leave a lingering scent to our Morning Times.

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. I’m not sure what to say about this book. It is huge (800 pages.) It is confusing (there are many, many characters and it is hard to keep them straight.) It is convoluted (there are many little stories that overlap to tell the main story.) But it is a good story–if you can keep everything straight which is a challenge.

Longbourne by Jo Baker. This is yet another Pride and Prejudice knock-off but this time it is told froom the point of view of the servants. I quite liked it.

Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen. I have only read one other Allen book(I can’t remember the title) but Lost Lake was much better than that one. This has made me think that I should attempt other Allen titles.

Princess Elizabeth’s Spy by Susan Elia MacNeal. This is the second book in the Maggie Hope series. Pure fluff but enjoyable fluff.

I am currently reading Till We Have Faces by C.S.Lewis (this is the next book for our Great Book reading–technically it is not a Great Book but it ties in with what we have reading so it is included in our list) and Radical Hospitality by Father Daniel Homan and Lonnie Collins Pratt–discussing hospitality with the Rules of St. Benedict as the backdrop.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

