May Reads

I haven’t been blogging much lately because I haven’t had anything to say. Let me rephrase that: I have lots to say but none of it is blog-worthy. I do have lots to say about books, though. There is always much to say about books.

Here are the page-turners for the month of May:

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. There has been much to-do about this book so maybe that is why it kind of fizzled for me–high expectations and the like. It just did not catch on to me. A YA book about a friendship of two girls set in WWII. I have to say that with all of the hype accompanying this book, it was a disappointment.

Till We Have Faces by C.S.Lewis. I think this just might be my favourite Lewis book of all time and that is saying a great deal. I was quite drawn to Orual and the theme of beauty. This story is a re-telling of the myth of Cupid and Psyche. I am also reading it as our family read aloud.

His Majesty’s Hope by Susan Elia MacNeal. The third installment in the Maggie Hope series. It was an okay read. It, too, is set during WWII full of spies, and secret messages complete with code.

The Cuckoos Calling by Robert Galbraith. Usually, books that receive hype fall short of the set expectations. This one pleasantly meets them. Robert Galbraith is none other than Harry Potter’s author, J.K.Rowling. Having read her other book, Casual Vacancy, I did not have high hopes for this one. I was wrong. I quite enjoyed this mystery. It was just a simple, predictable mystery but a nicely written one. I didn’t really want Cormoran Strike and his assistant, Robin, to leave the pages. I hear that there will be another follow-up to which I am looking forward.

Missing You by Harlan Coben. I admit it. I am a Harlan Coben fangirl. This is not a lofty admission to make. Coben’s books are not high literature but they are good stories, good thrillers. Coben has written about 24 books and I have read all 24 of them. As I said, I’m a fangirl. But the shine on his reputation has gotten a tad bit cloudy with this latest book. It pains me to say this but this book wasn’t as good as his previous offerings. It was too predictable and the sexist talk in between the characters was just too much for me. I will always read more Coben but I sincerely hope that this book was just a bump along the path.

The Incorrigble Children of Ashton Place: The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood. A book for middle schoolers. I liked it. I liked it so much that I have ordered the next book in the series from the library. The premise of this series is a governess is hired to look after three children, all whom have been raised by wolves. Yeah, I know, sounds corny but it is a fun, simple book.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

