June Reads

June has been a good month as far as reading is concerned.

Here are the books that I have wandered my way through in the last month:

Radical Hospitality by Fr. Daniel Homan and Lonnie Collins Pratt. This book deals with hospitality but used St. Benedict’s Rules as its guide. Very good book.

A Lantern in her Hand by Bess Streeter Aldrich. A delightful book that is reminiscent of Little House in the Prairie.

The Cocktail Party by T.S.Eliot. This play was a re-read as Emma will be reading this for school this year. I liked it but I have to say that it was a bit confusing. I am trying to find some online analysis to help me with my confusion but, so far, no such luck, unless I want to spend money. I haven’t decided if I am desperate enough to do this or not.

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodges. A new YA book that is a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast. This was a well-written tale but it left me with more questions than answers. I’m not sure how I feel about it.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K.Rowling. This will probably be the last time I read this series to my kids. I feel like I am saying goodbye to an old beloved friend.

Harry Potter and the Chamber’s Secret by J.K.Rowling. We are zipping through the first three books.

Holy is the Day by Carolyn Weber. A spiritual memoir on how to make yourself present during the happenings of life. Excellent book.

Bloom by Kelle Hampton. Another memoir of a mom whose second daughter was born with Down Syndrome. The book was good but the pictures were absolutely beautiful. Hampton is a gifted photographer.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

