Weekend Links

We are having an enjoyable, relaxing weekend. We headed off to the farmer’s market yesterday morning. I found my favourite vendor there and bought some new-to-me things, like rainbow chard and pea greens (these are yummy! You put them in salads and they taste like snap peas.)

Last night, the kids and I went to see Maleficent (yes, we are a little late but if we wait to see it at our local theatre which gets the movie right before it goes to DVD then we can see it much cheaper. For the 3 of us last night, it cost $13. For that price we can wait.) I have to say that I went into this movie expecting to dislike it. I am not a big fan of Angelina Jolie so I didn’t have big expectations for the film. Shockingly enough, I quite liked it.

There were a few things that didn’t sit well with me, like messing around with King Stefan. They made him into the villain and, of course, Maleficent became the good guy. With giving us the back story, Maleficent became a sympathetic character, one that you could pity and understand her actions. I didn’t like that. I didn’t like it that they messed around with a fairy tale. Why did that bother me? I’m not sure. Maybe because it is a fairy tale. Something that we all grew up with, knowing the story inside and out. For me, fairy tales are on a similar level as that of the Bible. I don’t like it when they mess with the Bible; hence, the same with fairy tales. Also, Angelina Jolie’s cheek bones were a massive distraction. I kept looking at her cheek bones and wondering if they were really that distinct or if that was a make-up trick. They just looked unreal. I kept thinking that the girl needed to start eating.I still liked the movie, though. Really, I did.

I like reading blogs that offer links of interesting articles, blog posts from other sources. So I thought I would share some of the links that I discovered this week.

I just found this blog this week. It looks interesting as the focus is on being a highly-sensitive homeschooler. I am quite familiar with the term ‘highly-sensitive’ but have never heard it in relation to homeschooling.

From that blog I found this article about ways to cope as a highly sensitive parent.

Sarah over at Amongst Lovely Things has been doing a wonderful job of offering us some great podcasts about reading aloud. She has whole series of podcasts on that subject. Her recent one is with author, Ken Ludwig, and they discuss Shakespeare and Ken’s book, How to Teach your Children Shakespeare. I have this book and it is very good, as is Sarah’s podcast.

I am heavy into homeschooling high school right now so when I can find any blog post or article about homeschooling these years I read it gratefully. I hear that Sandbox to Socrates will be doing a series on homeschooling through the high school years in October but they gave us a peak into it with this post

I hope you are all having a joy-filled weekend..

This entry was posted in homeschooling, weekend links. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

