Shaking My Head

Emma has been at Bible camp for the last week. She has been waiting for this for three years. Three years ago, she came home from her first camp experience and said, “I want to be an LIT (Leader in Training.)” This camp (I think most camps do) offers a leadership training camp for those who want to be a camp counsellor. Emma has had this in her sights since she was 12 years old.

She went off to the Leader in Training camp last week. The plan was that she was going to stay on till next week so that she could also go to Senior Teen camp. I was going to pick her up on July 13th and then we would go on from there.

I received a phone call from her last night.

She wants to stay for the rest of the summer.

Yikes!

I, truthfully, did not see this coming. I knew it was a possibility but I thought she would want to do it in two week chunks alternating them with breaks at home.

Nope.

She said that she felt that this was the right thing to do. She needed to stay for the whole thing.

Again. Yikes!

I am happy for her. I am happy that she has found something that she is excited about. But I miss her. And I really didn’t think I would have to deal with this this year. I thought I would have a year or two before she would want to be away for an extended period of time.

She bubbled on and on about all that she had been doing in the past week. She told me all about their training sessions.

She said, “It’s just like school here. You go to school in the morning and the afternoon. They give you workbooks that you have to fill out and hand back in to get marked and then you have tests on what you have learned. It is so much fun. I love learning like this.”

??????? Seriously ????????

I have spent the last 10 years reading and learning how to educate her without the use of workbooks and textbooks and she tells me that she would rather learn through workbooks? I said nothing. I thought lots but said nothing.

So here I am with feelings of ambivalence; not sure how I should feel about this. I think I will just choose to be happy for her.

This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

