Book Categories

A few days ago I came upon this blog post about mother culture aka a mother’s self-education. It has caused me to go on another thinking foray into the dark abyss. Sometimes these little jaunts are good. The jury is out whether this one will be classified as such.

The post tells about how Ambleside Online is choosing certain books under a few categories to recommend to moms to read as a source for self-education. The comments on this thread is what got me thinking. A commenter said that she does this for her personal reading. She has thought of different categories, categories/topics that she is interested in. She has a list of books that go under each of these categories and she reads these books all at the same time.

I admit my first thought was ‘why not just pick up the next book and read it. why do you need a list and categories?’ It sounded like a lot of work just to read a book.

But this commenter explained that reading in this manner has helped lessen the literary ADD she had with books previously. I could relate to this. I have a nasty habit of picking up a book and then, look! a nice new book? and I would put the first book down and pick the second book. I would get in a ways into the second book and then, look! And so it went.

The commenter said that the book categories tamed this habit. I was ready to put this to the test.

So I have divided my reading into topics/categories. I am hoping that this will help me to get caught up in my pre-reading for Emma’s school reading. I am hoping.

So here are my categories and the books that go under each one:

Spiritual– Soul Keeping John Ortberg

Science– Disappearing Spoon by Sam Keans

Theological–The Attributes of God by Arthur Pinker

Education– Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child by Anthony Esolen

Classic– Beowulf by J.R.R.Tolkien

Fiction–okay, this is where we run into troubles. I can’t find a fiction book that is piquing my attention. I tried Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham but it just didn’t do it for me. It was like reading a screenplay for the Gilmour Girls. Nah. Then I tried Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima. Now, this was a good read but I kept thinking that it was yet another chunkster (around 600 pages) and I have had my fill of chunksters for this year so I gave it up for Frog Music by Emma Donoghue. I just made this decision today so I’m not sure if this was a good move or not.

So that is my list and categories. I read each book 20 mins. every day. I don’t get too far but it does prevent me from getting bored with a book before I have to switch to the next one. I am liking reading in this way. It enables my literary ADD problem.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

