Wednesday With Words

I first read about Parnassus on Wheels at Modern Mrs. Darcy I’m not finished it yet but, so far, this is a delightful read. It is a book about books. Need I say more?

I would like to share some of its delightfulness:

“Lord!” he said, “when you sell a man a book you don’t sell him just twelve ounces of paper and ink and glue–you sell him a whole new life. Love and friendship and humour and ships at sea by night–there’s all heaven and earth in a book, a real book I mean. Jiminy! If I were the baker or the butcher or the broom huckster, people would run to the gate when I came by–just waiting for my stuff. And here I go loaded with everlasting salvation–yes, ma’am, salvation for their little, stunted minds–and it’s hard to make’em see it…. That’s what this country needs–more books!” (Pg. 44)

This entry was posted in Books, Wednesday With Words. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

