July Reads

It has been two weeks since I constructed the Six Category Reading List. I just made up that title now, on the spot. Sounds good, eh? Due to the birth of this list I have made some headway in my reading. Yay for me! I can see, though, some problems with said list. The books that are not my most favourite are not getting as much reading time as some of the others. Like The Disappearing Spoon, for instance. It is heavy slogging for that book. I have to make– no it’s worse than that– force myself to read that book. I am not liking it but I am determined to finish it. I am wondering, though, if I should still put it on Emma’s reading list for the fall. She has a more natural inclination to science than I do so she may understand and enjoy it more that I am. Maybe.

Okay, here is the reading list for the books completed during the month of July.

The Raphael Affair by Iain Pears. Meh. It was okay. I had heard quite a bit of buzz about this art history series on the Well Trained Mind forum but, as usual, the book didn’t meet the buzz.

Parnassus on Wheels by Christopher Morley. This was just a delightful story about people and books.

Soul Keeping by John Ortberg. This book was the catalyst for my lightbulb moment as to what sorts of things need to change in my life. Good book.

Feeding Your Soul by Jean Fleming. Do you see a theme building here? Honest, though, this was not intentional on my part. On God’s part? Yeah, probably. A very good book on quiet time.

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue. I am becoming a fan of Emma Donoghue. She is a very good writer. She can tell a story that just sucks you in regardless of how lewd or base it is. If you are squeamish about graphic details then this is not the book for you but I didn’t have any real problems with it until the very end and by that time I was too far in to stop.

Beowulf translated by J.R.R.Tolkien. I will be reading Beowulf next month with Caleb and Tessa. When I read it with Emma, three years ago, we used Seamus Heaney’s version but I have heard such fluffle about Tolkien’s version that I thought I would try it to see if I would like to use it this second time around. No, I don’t want to use it. I like Heaney’s version much, much better. I keep trying to be a Tolkien girl but, sadly, he just doesn’t fly with me.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K.Rowling. We have now finished the third HP book as a read aloud. Tessa is entranced with these books. I find it interesting that my girls are interested in similar things as far as books and movies but my boy is all alone with his interests. He likes HP but he doesn’t get all bent out of shape (like the girls do) if he misses a read aloud portion of the book. We are now on the fourth book and are trying to read like mad so that we can finish it by the beginning of school.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

