My Geekiness is Alive and Well

I have never thought of myself as a geek. In the past, the term ‘geek’ has always meant(to me) a person who is obsessed with science and/or technology. And that is definitely not me.

Lately, though, I have seen the definition changing. Geek now means anyone who has an obsession with anything that is not accepted universally.

It has become apparent to me during the last few weeks that I have fallen under that category. I am a Geek.

My geekiness is alive and well due to the book categories that I created to spark my reading life into re-existence. (Is that even a word? It is now.) I don’t think my geekiness spawned just from the categories but, rather, my extreme enjoyment from reading the books under the categories. Oh my word! I am experiencing pure joy from reading now. I look forward to 8:00 p.m. every night as that is the magical reading-of-the-categories time. I thought that I might suffer from literary confusion from jumping from book to book but that does not seem to be the case. There are a few books in my categories that I am enjoying beyond what I thought possible. It has been awhile since I have been giddy about a book. See? Geekiness is simply bubbling all around me.

Now, if the geekiness was limited only to books, well, I could understand that and would not classify it under the geek factor but there is something else that I have started doing that tips things into geekdom.

Caleb and Tessa have started a new writing program this past week. Caleb’s book suggests that he does word analysis on some of the words in the books that he is reading. I thought that might be a good way to help increase his vocabulary. So we brought out the dictionaries and thesaurus, found sites for etymological dictionaries and concordances online and we were ready to get started. Our first word to analyze was indignant. Okay, don’t roll your eyes too violently but…I had so much fun doing this. I love thinking up synonyms, antonyms, finding out where the word come from and looking up quotes with that word in it. Such fun!

I know….geek!

This entry was posted in Books, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

