August Daybook

OUTSIDE MY WINDOW–Sunshine! Glorious, bright sunshine! We haven’t had a lot of that lately as the heavens have poured forth much rain on our land. This means that we can’t get into the garden because of the mud. This means that the weeds are taking over yet again. sigh

I AM THINKING ABOUT–a whole lot of things, as usual. I am thinking about life with three children again (Yes, she is home now for good! It is so wonderful to see her and be with her again but things have changed.) I am thinking about how to be a parent to teens. I am a good parent of pre-schoolers, an okay parent of elementary school-aged children but teens? That’s a whole ‘nother ball of wax and I am having…I don’t know…I don’t think I would call it difficulty in dealing with this age but I definitely feel shaky. I am second guessing myself a lot here–just like I did when I first brought my babies home from the hospital. Second guessing myself quite a bit here.

IN THE SCHOOLROOM–It is full of piles and piles of books. Books waiting to be put away. Books waiting to be carried upstairs to be put in the school shelves. Books which really don’t know where they are supposed to be. In other words, the schoolroom is a horrible mess. Not only is there piles of books lying everywhere but there is also piles of paper and whatnot lying right beside them. A mess, I tell you. And don’t get me started on the room which used to be the playroom. You can’t even find the floor to walk in. Someone should really start to clean this mess up. And soon.

FROM THE KITCHEN–Nothing much happening here, either. My Beloved has re-discovered the joy of barbecuing so we have been enjoying the fruits of his re-discovery. Last night we had chicken kebabs marinated in ranch dressing, oil, vinegar and worchestershire sauce. Yummy!

I AM CREATING–art journals. I have become enamored with art journaling. Just search on Pinterest and you will find oodles of examples of art journaling. This has been a release for me for the last few weeks. If there is a thought, a scripture verse, a poem or a line from a song that begs to be meditated on, I give birth to it on paper in my art journal. It has been very soothing to me just to be able to get the thoughts out of my head and put it on paper in a more creative way. Usually my thoughts take the form of the written word, it is nice to see them take the form of art. It is healing.

I AM WORKING ON–still working on school plans for the fall. Three more weeks. EEEK! I do have some curriculum bought (Math-U-See, science supply kits, Beast Academy, poetry books, more books) but I am hoping to get the rest of it bought this coming week. I also have to figure out the rhythm of our day and how the big subjects are going to play out. Emma will be doing mostly everything by herself this year, even history and literature so it will just be me and the two youngers together. This will seem strange.

I AM READING–The Rock that is Higher by Madeleine L’Engle. This is my first adult book written by L’Engle. I have just started it but I am enjoying it. I have also just started How Should We Then Live by Charles Colson.

I AM WATCHING– Divergent yesterday on DVD. I have read the book but I didn’t have high hopes for the movie. I was wrong. The actress who played Tris did a very good job. Divergent is a dystopian book/movie similar to Hunger Games and The Giver (which is coming out at the theatres in August as well.) So if you didn’t like these books then you probably won’t like this either.

AROUND THE HOUSE–We are trying to find a reasonably priced stove to replace the one that is holding together by a thread or should I say a burner. I only have one burner that works. I have been using the stove in this way for two years. We are now ready to admit that we need a new one. Problem is we can’t find one that is in the dollar range of what we think a stove should cost. So we continue on cooking acrobatically on one burner. I’m getting pretty good at it.

ONE OF MY FAVOURITE THINGS–Avocados! I find great delight in avocados. Last year at this time I didn’t even know what an avocado looked like but now that I am eating healthier and being more adventurous with my taste buds, I now not only know what they look like but it is now mandatory to have one every day. A day just isn’t a day without an avocado in it.

A FEW PLANS FOR THE NEXT WEEK–Now that I have all of my children home under one roof, another one (Caleb) is leaving for 3 or 4 days to go camping with Nana and Papa. Other than that my plans include cleaning up the schoolroom and continue working on lesson plans.

This entry was posted in Daybook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

