Wednesday with Words

Over the years I have heard/read much about Madeleine L’Engle’s writing. Two years ago the kids and I read A Wrinkle in Time series, I was smitten with her writing then but I didn’t go any further. I have always wanted to read her adult writings but that is as far as it has gone: wanting.

Until now.

I am reading The Rock That is Higher. I keep grabbing my commonplace book to insert yet another quote. I share some of these quotes today.

What has happened to us? We have not been wholly what we are meant to be for a long time. When I am in the fiery furnace, I burn. My faith is not the pure faith of Daniel or Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego. Can we ever again become wholly what we are meant to be? Story helps to show me. Sometimes in the darkest of moments we are fully human…

One of the results of the Fall is that we have forgotten who we are and so have forgotten how to be. Learning to be hurts…But we can sing the joy of our creation and honor our Creator only from within the fire.

…have forgotten how to be. Learning to be hurts.

This is where I find myself now.

This entry was posted in Books, Wednesday With Words. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

