August Reads

Can you tell that we started this week? It’s harder to get here when I have kids to teach, a house to clean, kids to chauffeur and farmers to feed. At times it gets a bit much and something has to give. Ding, Ding, Ding, the blog is the winner.

It is late at night, though, and I can’t sleep so this is where I turn as my cure for insomnia.

August was a great month for reading. Many books were a guest on my nightstand, fewer, though, made it onto my ‘book journal’ where I list all of the books that I completed. I have become very picky in my reading as of late. If my attention isn’t piqued soon into the book then off it goes, back to the library. I do not have time to waste in wooing a book. I need it to catch my attention right from the get-go. Even with these conditions I read 9 books last month. Yay for me!

Before I get to the list, though, I do have to give an update on my reading categories. I have 6 categories that I slot my books in and I read these books all at the same time. Madness, I know, but it is a beautiful madness. With the exception of the science category (no surprise there) I have been able to read through one book for every category.

Right now here is my reading list:

Spiritual/Memoir–Forward From Here by Reeve Lindbergh

Theology–How Now Shall We Live by Charles Colson/Nancy Pearcey

Science–Disappearing Spoon by Sam Kean (yes, I am still here. a very slow-going read)

Education–The Liberal Arts Tradition by Ravi Jain/Kevin Clark (another hard going one)

Classic–The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

Fiction–The Moon Sisters by Therese Walsh (I just started this and I am not sure if I am going to continue.)

On to the list of books read during the months of August:

Gifts from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh–timeless memoir

Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey–re-telling of fairy tale. Quite good.

The Attributes of God by Arthur Pink. Excellent book.

The One and Only by Emily Giffen. Okay, you got me. Yes, I was reading super fluff. I was hooked all through the book until the last chapter. The ending just ruined it for me. I won’t say anything more but, ugh, yucky ending!

Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of your Child by Anthony Esolen. There has been lots of buzz over this book in the last two years and I am wondering if it is the high expectations from all of the hype that torpedoed my like for this book. It was well-written but the tongue-in-cheek stance all throughout the book was just too much for me.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling. We are making our way to the end of the series but I think that we will wait for awhile before we continue on.

Somewhere In-Between by Donna Milner. A take-off of The Lovely Bones. It was okay. Lovely Bones was better, firsts usually are.

The Rock that was Higher by Madeleine L’Engle. My first adult L’Engle book and I loved it. I don’t agree with some of her theology but I am in love with her writing.

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay. A YA book full of swearing and graphic innuendo. Usually I do not give these kinds of books a second glance but I was hooked into this book from the first page. I liked the story. I liked the writing. I did not like the language. I think we could have done better here.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

