October’s Daybook

I haven’t done one of these in a long time. There is so much going on here that I think I can pull off a Daybook.

OUTSIDE MY WINDOW–the most beautiful sunrise. One of the many pluses of living in Saskatchewan is the breath-taking sunrises and sunsets. The sky canvas of pinks, purples, grays, blues, lights, darks is simply beautiful. Every two minutes you are treated to another painting. A painting from which praising God pours forth.

GIVING THANKS–for making it possible for Tessa to start seeing a reading therapist. We went last last week for an assessment and was impressed with the therapist. We will be visiting her on a weekly basis, depending on the weather. I am now able to breathe out.

I AM THINKING ABOUT–how many weeks until the end of November. That is when all this craziness will dissipate. As it stands now, we are out of the house every day of the week. That is totally insane. Who was the crazy person who arranged all of this? You know it is bad when your child, who craves social activity, begs to stay home ‘for just one day, Mom, please?’ After November, we will be gone only 2 or 3 days a week. I can handle that.

IN THE SCHOOLROOM–well, it is difficult to do anything in the schoolroom when you are not there but we are trying. I will talk about this more in another post but we have had to change up Caleb’s science program and Emma’s history program. We have plan B for both kids underway but this just puts a kaibosh on future plans in these subjects. More thinking is required.

FROM THE KITCHEN–all things autumn. We have been making yummy pumpkin treats, like pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin chocolate chip cookies and pumpkin muffins. I think Autumn is my favourite season for the kitchen.

I AM CREATING–fun autumn activities for the kids. We need a bit of fun here. There has been a lot of running around, a lot of reading and learning and now we just need some plain old fun. We have been decorating pumpkins and making autumn-inspired centrepieces.

I DON’T WANT TO EVER FORGET–how yucky I feel now with being so busy. I am hoping that when next autumn rolls around I will remember how tired and just plain cranky I feel now so that I will not over-book us again just for the sake of social activity. Yeah, I know, I will probably forget just like I have forgotten for the past three years. But here’s hoping.

I AM WORKING ON–a new booklist for Emma. This means that I have to read these books, too. sigh

I AM READING:
Finding Spiritual Whitespace: awakening your soul to rest by Bonnie Gray. Funny how that title caught my eye. I have known about this book for quite awhile now but had no desire to read it. Even when it was published and saw it on my Amazon page, I still did not have any desire to read it. I bought it, well, I don’t really know why I bought it but I did. It came in the mail yesterday and I have been reading it ever since. Very good book. God knew I needed this.
Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead. A ballet story. We’ll see.
Booked by Karen Swallow Prior. I talked about this book last week. It is taking me awhile to get through it but this is a very well written book. I think this just might be a ‘buy me’ book.

I AM WATCHING–old movies. The kids and I have standing date once a week to watch old black and white movies. So far we have watched ‘The Thin Man’ with William Powell and Myrna Loy, Dial M for Murder starring Ray Milland and Grace Kelly and, most recently, Breakfast at Tiffany’s with Audrey Hepburn and George Peppard. I don’t think I have ever seen a movie with Audrey Hepburn in it. She is lovely to watch.

I AM THINKING ABOUT–(I know, I have two thinking abouts, but I am doing a lot of thinking this week, it requires two sections) the recent firing of Jian Gomeshi from the CBC. Jian was one of the few lights of the CBC, imo. I used to rush home from Church every Sunday to watch his show, Q. He was a brilliant and gifted interviewer. I cannot imagine Canada Reads without him. My heart is sad this morning. Sad for Jian’s lost career and sad for the women that he is alleged to have assaulted.

This entry was posted in Daybook, family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

