What I’ve Read in November

It’s been awhile since I have done a book thread. I have been reading just haven’t been blogging about it. I read quite a bit in November so let’s get on with it.

While Beauty Slept by Elizabeth Blackwell. A clever re-telling of Sleeping Beauty. Re-tellings are all the thing now in YA books but this one, at least for me, stands out above the croud.

Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead. A novel set in the ballet world. It was an okay read. It’s predictability took away it’s shine.

The Headmaster’s Wife by Thomas Christopher Greene. This story hit home for me. I can’t really tell you why. I think it might be from reading the acknowledgements from the author that made this story of grief strike deep. I don’t want to say too much In case you decide to read it. It was an odd book but I loved it all the same.

Booked by Karen Swallow Prior. A book about books; I love those kinds of books. Ms. Prior does this exceedingly well. She talks about well-known classics, like Jane Eyre, Tess of the D’Urbervilles and relates them to her life. I loved this book!

Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeymi. I do believe this is the strangest book I have ever read. It is so strange that I can’t even tell you what it is about. What I can tell you, though, is that Oyeymi is a gifted writer. I finished the book even though I didn’t know what was going on and that was because the writing pushed me through.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng. Another powerful story. This one struck deep as well. I was impacted by each of the characters, that doesn’t happen very often. The writing was good but Ng’s ability to mold her characters into believable people is what makes this book so good.

Defending Jacob by William Landay. A fluff thriller. Even though it was a murder mystery, the author attempted to discover whether murder is nature or nurture.

Consider This by Karen Glass. I finished this book in less than 24 hours. It is an excellent book on Classical Education and whether a Charlotte Mason Education falls under that philosophy. I would like to talk more about this in a separate post but suffice it to say that this book is one to recommend to those who are wondering just what Classical Education is. It is an easy read and sheds light on things that I just haven’t understood in the past.

Evil Under the Sun by Agatha Christie. Tessa and I read this together. We both enjoyed this one.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

