A Hoarding of Sorts

Is it possible to be a book hoarder? Yes, I suppose it is. I mean if you have piles of books littered around your house to the point that one can easily trip over them then I guess that would put you in that category.

So.

My name is Julia and I am a book hoarder. A book hoarder of various kinds. This means that there are piles of books everywhere my house–children’s books in the school room (which we don’t even use as a school room due to all of the books that overflow from the shelves,) books that are piled high waiting desperately to be read, books on education that are piled close to my bed, books dealing with spiritual growth that are piled on the book shelf in the living room, books waiting to be pre-read before the kids get to them–that pile is tottering in close proximity to my reading chair in my bedroom.

Then there is the pile of books that can be found on the shelf of the headboard of my bed (a true bibliophile even has bookshelves in their headboard!) This pile is fluid. The books in this pile come and go according to my mood, my interests. This pile is for my library books. Right now there are 18 books in that pile.

I know, 18? And I am fairly certain that there are more books waiting for me at the library.

This is where my piles of books just might teeter on the border of obsession. Or just a person who really loves the gift of story. You choose which one sounds good to you.

This is also the place where, like any good hoarder, I give you my justification for that many books on the library pile when there are numerous other book piles dotting the horizon of my home.

It came to my attention early in December that our library would be closed for two weeks over Christmas holidays. Excuse me? Once I got my breath back and recovered from what all that meant, I quickly scanned my TBR booklists and started ordering books like a crazy woman (or a book hoarder, either label sadly fits in this situation.) Ordering books became complicated by: how many books does one need when they have two weeks off from teaching school? What if the books don’t come in on time and one is left with a gap of booklessness? (That one made me tremble.) I had to be very careful in my book ordering. I would much prefer to have too many books over the holidays than to not have enough.

So all of these dilemmas have resulted in library books in the double digits.

I know, with all of this book talk you are dying to know what books are inhabiting the library book pile, aren’t you? Well, I will tell you (she says with unbridled glee–there is nothing that can compare with book talk.) Keep in mind, though, that the requirements of these books are to fill the holidays, hence, we don’t want books that will tax our brain too much. In other words, most of these books are fluff books and I am content with that. Dante can wait until January.

My list: The Martian by Andy Weir. There is quite a buzz about this book. Everyone and their dog seems to be reading this book.

Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh. As it is with this book, many people are talking about it.

Composing Amelia by Alison Strobel

Anatomy of a Disappearance by Hisham Matar. I know nothing about this book except that the title is interesting.

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. This book, too, has had good reviews.

The Funeral Dress by Susan Gregg Gilmore

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. I tried this book a few years ago and could not get into it but recent online chatter about it has prompted me to try again.

Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons

The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan. A memoir of sorts.

The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett. Much has been heard about this book as well.

Then there is the triage of Marilynne Robinson. Her recent book, Lila, has just come out and I hear good things about it. The problem, though, is that I haven’t read her previous books and even though I think you can read Lila cold without any previous Robinson readings, I want to be prepared. Just in Case. So I have those three books as well.

There are more books but I won’t bore you with all of the titles.

Most people look forward to Christmas for the presents, the food, the people. For me? It’s all about the piles of books. I am so excited about diving into those piles of library books. The book hoarder in my is maniacally giggling with anticipation.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

