Wednesday With Words–Housekeeping

I recently read the first of Marilynne Robimson’s novels, Housekeeping. Oh. My. Word! This is some book. I felt emotionally wrung out when I finished it. It was a depressing read in the terms of content but it was a gem to read as far as writing style. Robinson is a gifted writer, maybe too gifted. At times, her descriptions seemed a bit ov4r the top but it didn’t stop me from enjoying the story and her writing. This book was a commonplace book’s dream. I had my book glued to my side as I read so that I could copy all that struck out at me. I will share a few here.

“If I had one particular complaint, it was that my life seemed composed entirely of expectation.” (pg. 166)

“We would have never known that her calm was as slight as the skin on water, and that her calm sustained her as a coin can float on still water…. But she left us and broke the family and the sorrow was released and we saw it’s wings and saw it fly a thousand ways into the hills…” (pg. 198)

“When did I become so unlike other people? Either it was when I followed Sylvie across the bridge and the lake claimed us or it was when my mother left me waiting for her and established in me the habit of waiting and expectation which makes any present moment most significant for what it does not contain. Or it was at my conception.” (pg. 219)

Please join Ladydusk for Wednesday with Words.

This entry was posted in Books, Wednesday With Words. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday With Words–Housekeeping

  1. ladydusk says:

    Marilynne Robinson is on my I really must read someday list. This dies nothing to dissuade me! Thanks for linking in!

  2. I’m glad that you found the post, Dawn, as I seemed to have messed up the link. 🙂

  3. I am on my way out the door so I don’t have time to fix it. You can just leave it, as you said, it’s not too hard to find the post.

Leave a Reply

