Morning Time for Winter Term–2015

Our Morning Times have ebbed and flowed over the 6 years that we have been doing it. I think that is the beauty of MT, you can expand it or shorten it to fit your season of life or to fit the children that are involved. There is not a right or wrong way to do MT, there is only a ‘you way’ to do it.

I have a nasty habit of adding too many things to our MT and then we become so overloaded that we put our time together to the side, so I have been trying to be conscious of this and keep things simple but nasty habits are hard to overcome.

My plan for the new year’s version is very simple but we will see how long it remains that simple.

In the past, I have tried to cover as many books and subjects as I could by alternating them over the week. I would have poetry on one day, mythology on another day, Shakespeare on another day and so on. That is where the complicated fell in. It just seemed too hard to keep each day straight and because we were only doing one subject a week, the topics seemed to go on and on. I don’t do that anymore. We keep to a few subjects and one main reading that we fill ourselves with every day.

Here’s the plan:

Everyday: Bible study (we are going to try various bible study methods so the kids can find which one suits them,) our readings, game,and discussion on our idea of the month.

One day of the week: (I don’t have an exact day for each of these subjects. I just make sure they get done at some point during the week.) Music/Composer study, Picture Study, Poetry notebooks, How to Read a Book by Mortimer Adler.

Our readings: 50 Women Every Christian Should Know by Michelle DeRusha, Idylls of the King by Alfred Lord Tennyson.

Music: Opera. We are currently listening to Verdi

Picture Study: I have another nasty habit (Oh! I am full of them!) of focusing more on the artist than I am on the pictures themselves. I am going to attempt to repent of my wayward habits and focus on the pictures themselves. We will be studying the paintings of George Seurat.

There it is; nice and simple. We will see how long that lasts before the complicated comes worming its way in.

This entry was posted in classical education, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

