Breathing Room

My word for 2015 is Healing. Even though we are only a month in, this word is working very well for me. There have been many avenues this past month that have played very nicely with my word. Breathing Room by Leeana Tankersley is one of those avenues. In fact this book has been a gift to me. The words in this book have calmed me down and have given me hope. Hope that I can be me again. Me. Julia. Not mommy or wife or homeschool mom but just plain old me. This book has caused me to breathe again–to breathe in holiness, order and creativity. There have been many chapters that have spoken to me but the closing chapter filled me with all kinds of warm fuzzies.

In the face of oppression. In the face of ridicule. In the face of doubt, insecurity, vulnerability, naysayers. In the face of every kind of resistance, continue.

When Hard, and Unsure, and Uphill are all hunting you down, continue is an uprising against those voices and forces and family members who would rather you stop, hush, be a bit more ordinary or… normal.

Wherever you are when you put this book down, whatever you are going through, I will leave you with this one, tide-changing, audacious word.
Continue.

Show up and participate in what life has in front of you, in what God is doing in your life. Continue to lean in. Continue to open your eyes. Continue to scout the beauty. Continue to create. Continue to love. Continue to get well. Continue to breathe. (Pg. 205–207)

Continue. Hmmm. Maybe that should be a word for 2016.

Currently Reading: Fiction: The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh, Notorious by Allison Brennan
Theological: Imitation of Christ by Thomas a Kempis
Spiritual: A Grace Revealed by Jerry Sittser
Education: The Order of Things by James Schall
Classic: A Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
Great Book: The Purgatoria by Dante

Join us at Ladydusk more Wednesday with Words quotes and thoughts.

This entry was posted in Books, living art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breathing Room

  1. ladydusk says:

    I’ve never heard of this book, but “Show up and participate in what life has in front of you” speaks to me in *my* word for 2015. I’m happy to see others referring back and considering the ideas they are searching out. Thanks for linking in!

Leave a Reply

