My Ambivalence Toward Self-Care

Have you read The Fringe Hours by Jessica Turner? It has been making it’s rounds with the blogs, podcasts and even Canadian television. This book is everywhere.

In case you haven’t read it, it is all about carving time out of your day for self-care. This book tells you the benefits of self-care, how to make it happen for you and it helps you to see just what self-care might look like for you as it looks different for every woman.

When I first heard about this book I didn’t think I would read it as I have always (well, at least since my kids have grown older) made time for myself during the day. For a few years now I have been getting up at 5:30 every morning to pray, read the Bible, exercise and read some more. This time of the day has become important to me as the years have floated by. I don’t have a problem with making self-care a part of my daily schedule so I didn’t think I would fall into the fringe hour mania.

Curiousity won out, though, and I bought it. You knew I would, didn’t you? It is a book after all.

I am glad that I did read it, though.

I don’t have any difficulties in reading or exercising but my problems have arisen in trying to find passions or areas of creativity that can fill up my soul. Now, reading does that for me but for a few years now I have been trying to find other interests that can be filed under the creativity title. This has been a source of frustration for me. After I had kids, it seemed that all of my creativity withered away. The things that I used to do when I was single, well, I was just too tired to do those things anymore plus I just didn’t have the same interest in those pursuits as I did before children. It became apparent to me a few years ago that I had to find other passions and interests. But what? During the past few months, though, I have come across a few different things that I just might be able to cultivate into a passion or, if worse comes to worse, it could even be classified as an interest. After reading The Fringe Hours, I have become excited to figure out how I can carve out time to work on these newly founded interests. I have to think more about it to see if I can move things around to fit them into my day.

The one problem that I had with the book might be just a misunderstanding I may have with the author’s use of a word. She frequently states that we, as women, need to put our need for self-care as a priority. I have a problem with the use of that word, ‘priority.’ To me that means that I come first before anyone else in my world, that I am more important than anyone else. I do not agree with that at all. I do not come first. There are a few people who come before me, like God, my husband and my children. From reading the book, I think she agrees with me but her use of ‘priority’ puts a crimp in her message, at least it does in my opinion, and it dampers the book a bit for me.

Aside from that little problem with a word, I enjoyed this book. I think I am going to try to document my week to figure out where my hours are being spent. Even though I put my fringe hours to good use already, I do have a problem in finding time to get my house in order. I do believe I am squandering my time a bit; time that could be put to better use. Writing my days out might help me solve this problem.

This entry was posted in Books, healthy lifestyle, living art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Ambivalence Toward Self-Care

  1. mystiewinckler says:

    I’d been ignoring this book, but I now have added my name to the list of holds at our library. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

