Getting Old and Exercise

I have had a love/hate relationship with exercise. I have exercised off and on for almost 40 years (Do you know how much it pains me to type that number in? Really? 40? Am I really that old? Yes. Yes, I am) and the rhythm is the same; I bribe, cajole, threaten myself to actually exercise but once I am in the middle of it, the intense dislike turns to enjoyment and when it’s over, my body feels so good and I am happy that I actually did it. But it’s the getting there that is the hard part. Always has been.

But I am getting older and I am finding that it is hard to exercise like I have in the past. When I was younger I usually did high impact exercise and, usually, I was able to lose weight if I was consistent with exercising. I am afraid those days are long gone.

I have noticed that it is harder for me to do high impact exercise now. There are more negative repercussions from a high intensity exercise program, like sore knees, hips, stiff shoulders, etc. all of the things that are associated with getting older. Getting up in the morning is tinted with pain; I don’t like this and I don’t think this is a healthy way to live. So I have decided that I should do something that is gentler on my 52 yr. old body. Yoga is what comes to mind. This way of exercising is much more enjoyable that bouncing around and taking part in knee-blowing exercises. But I am afraid that I won’t lose weight from yoga.

So this is how I have it figured out: I will do yoga every day courtesy of yoga journal and DVDs that I own. I will also alternate between walking and bicycle riding and I will also do ab crunches, oblique crunches and bicycle thrusts daily. I’m thinking that the combination of all of these things may not make me lose weight but they should tone my body. I am telling myself that that is what I want right now a toned body. It’s okay if I will never get back to the weight I was in my 40’s. I will be satisfied with a toned body.

That is what I keep telling myself.

Hence, the yoga.

This entry was posted in healthy lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

