April Reads

I have been able to do a lot of reading during the first quarter of this year. I know that this will change as the summer presents itself but my reading, so far, has been enjoyable. The older I get, though, it seems the less patience I have for less than stellar books. I just don’t have the time to waste on so-so reading material. I only want to read well-written or well-storied literature. As a result of this change, I have ditched quite a few books this year. I used to give it to page 50 before I would return it to the library but now if the books hasn’t grabbed my attention by page 20 then back it goes. I realize that is not fair but for this season of my life this is all I can do. Some of the books that have been ditched will be revisited later on when life is a bit slower.

For now, here are the books that caught my attention during the month of April.

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica. I did like this book, it is a mystery with a surprise ending. Usually I don’t like these kinds of endings as I think the author is trying to manipulate us readers but I didn’t have that complaint with this book; I liked the surprise ending. This book wasn’t so much well-written as it was well-storied.

Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. This is a re-read for me as I read it as a family read aloud. The kids, especially Tessa, enjoyed Flavia’s antics.

The Fringe Hours by Jessica Turner. Even though the message of this book was one that I have been practicing for a while now, I did gain a new message, one of being more creative, of trying to find my creativity.

The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz. This is yet another remake of Sherlock Holmes and, yet again, it is one that I enjoyed.

The Wife of Martin Guerre by Janet Lewis. Emma and I read this for school and, surprisingly (I know I shouldn’t have been surprised but I was,) I really enjoyed this story. It is a true story set in the 1500’s of a man leaving his wife and then returning but his wife is not certain that he is truly her husband.

The Stranger by Harlan Coban. This is my yearly Coban suspense thriller. The one I read last year made me wonder if his ‘writing a good story’ days were over but he bounced back with this one.

The Romantic Rationalist edited by John Piper and David Mathis. This book is a compilation of talks from a Desiring God conference on C.S.Lewis. It was an interesting read but, for me, the best part was in the appendix. The thoughts discussed in the appendix caused me to think a great deal on the words and thoughts presented.

The Little Way of Ruthie Leming by Rod Dreher. I read this book as a prelude to the Dreher’s newest book, ‘How Dante Can Save Your Life.’ I knew what the subject was in the Dante book and also knew that the backstory was in the Ruthie Leming book so I read this one before venturing any further. I wasn’t impressed with it in the beginning but as I made my way through it, it gave me much food for thought on family and the complexities that are found in that community. Dreher’s sister, Ruthie Leming, dies iin 2011 from lung cancer. His book is about the complicated relationship he had with both his sister and his father. The ending far made up for the beginning.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

