This’N’That — May 30

Another spring week come and gone. I’m not sure if it is my imagination or not but the weeks seem to be spinning by faster as the years move on. Or maybe it’s just because I am getting older. Nevertheless, this week has seen more sleepovers (was I the one who, a few years ago, prayed for a more active social life for my kids? Beware for which you pray,) driving lessons for the oldest (eeek! the examination day is creeping up closer and closer,) and a few bumps regarding parenting and business (these bumps just make life all the more interesting, don’t they? At least that is what I keep telling myself.)

Let’s see, what else happened here this past week?

Oh, our garden was seeded last weekend. This is extremely early for us. Another first is that we, as a family, put it in together. Together. As in the mom and the dad and the kids. That has never happened before because I knew that disagreements would always be born from this activity. My Beloved and myself are nothing else if not opinionated about the placing of the seeds and plants. But, in my quest for a garden that actually produces food, I thought that maybe it was time to acquiesce to his opiinions of how seed should be planted. I mean, after all, he is a farmer, so maybe he actually does know something about putting seed in the ground (Oh, the arrogance!) So the boys planted the seeds (beans, peas, carrots, and lettuce) and the girls planted the plants (celery, cucumber, tomatoes, peppers, raspberry, strawberries) and we did the potatoes all together. And guess what? There were no disagreements. There were a few tussles that could have easily mushroomed into a full-blast disagreement but, after 17 years of marriage, I am finally learning when to back down and let it go. Yes, I am a slow learner. But this garden does look pretty. The rows are spaced far enough apart that we can get the rototiller in to do it’s weed-destroying magic so I don’t have to do it by hand. Hopefully, then, the garden will look this pretty all through the summer. Here’s hoping.

Reading — I just finished A Presumption of Death by Jill Paton Walsh. It is a continuation of the Lord Peter mysteries that were created by Dorothy Sayers. I was a bit skeptical of this modern version but I quite enjoyed it. I will be reading more of Walsh. I have not begun An Untamed State by Roxane Gay — a woman is kidnapped for ransom in Haiti. I have read quite a few of these types of stories lately, I am getting a bit tired of this new ‘genre.’

Watching — Out of our interest of the capture of the fugitive who inspired the movie, The Shawshank Redemption, we decided to watch the movie. It is interesting to me that memories of a movie dim with time and there always seems to be hazy recollections of certain things that you don’t really want your kids to see or hear, like swearing and violence. This is what has happened with this movie. I watched it only last year but I forgot just how bad the language and the violence is. There was quite a bit “Hide your eyes!’ and ‘ Put your fingers in your ears’ all through the movie. But they were still able to get the gist of the story and they enjoyed it. I do love this story.

Around the WebBrandy offers a summer reading plan for those who desire a bit of mother culture in their lives. These suggestions are very good.

Pam, from EdSnapshots, has had a series of podcasts showing the various educational philosophies that are available to us homeschooling moms. This particular podcast is on unschooling but she also has ones on Classical Education, School at home, Charlotte Mason, etc. They are quite helpful.

Sarah Bessey offers us a suggestion to spice up our life with more poetry.

Circe Institute gives us a book list of some of the best bedtime read alouds for children.

And then there is this article about the benefits of well-written children’s literature.

This entry was posted in family, This'N'That. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

