This’N’That–August 22

A calm week has been had by all. Calm but busy. Emma and I have been going every day to the small city closest to us to practice her driving. I have tried every way I know how to get her to be familiar with the streets of this city without having her drive there every day but to no avail. So we have gone to the city 4 mornings this week, early, oh-so-very-early, way too early. I think, though, that it is paying off. We will be doing this for a few more weeks. sigh

Not only does driving to the city every day cost lots for gas, it also costs lot of money in general. I mean, if you are already in the city, you might as well go shopping and I do. Every day. This has been an extremely costly driver’s license.

I have been trying to get more school planning done. I have a ways to go. I have Tessa’s planning done for the first 6 weeks. Caleb’s is done for the first three weeks and Emma’s, well, I’m working on it. I have been doing a bit of work on my Morning Time plans so I am hoping to post them next week.

In the ‘be still my beating heart’ department, Emma approached me last week and asked if we could read ‘Of Mice and Men,’ ‘Wuthering Heights’ and ‘Anna Karenina’ this year for school. I was speechless. This has never happened before. She has always docilely accepted my book lists in the past. I always ask her if there is anything she would like to read but she says no. This year, I didn’t even have to ask, SHE came to ME first! Insert happy dance here. I do have to admit, though, that when she asked me about the books, the OCD in me kicked in and said (just in my head, I did not utter these words out loud) “We are doing Renaissance/Early Modern this year for literature and history. We can’t do ‘Of Mice and Men’ this year nor Anna Karenina.” I gave myself a mental shake and out loud told Emma that I would love to read these books with her.

Tessa and I have been enjoying The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate written by Jacqueline Kelly. What a totally delightful book! Calpurnia is a 12 year old budding scientist in the year of 1899 when female scientists are not the norm. We are eagerly awaiting the sequel, ‘The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate.’

Here are some links that I have come across this week:

The Mason Jar–have you been listening to this Circe podcast? This particularly podcast is solely on the teachings of Charlotte Mason and it features Cindy Rollins. This past weeks episode was quite helpful to me as Cindy answers questions about nature study and Morning Time.

Quiddity with Jenny Rallens–yes, it’s another podcast. To be more specific, it’s another Circe podcast but this time it features speaker/classical teacher Jenny Rallens an she is speaking on how memory is linked to virtue. I love listening to Mrs. Rallens, she offers so much to ponder on.

Emily Freeman’s latest book, Simply Tuesday, was released out into the world this past Tuesday. My copy of the book is on its way to me right now as I type. I am a huge fan of Emily Freeman’s thoughts and words. I think it was Anne Voskamp who called Emily ‘a soul coach.’ Spot on. She writes from her soul and her words nestle themselves into my soul.

This entry was posted in This'N'That, weekend links. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

