Becoming

I have never been big on making resolutions for the new year. For me, that is just setting myself up for a fall. I am doomed before I even get out of the starting gates of the new year. Fruitless is the word that springs to mind in relation to resolutions.

for some reason, which I don’t fully understand, picking a word for the year works out much better for me. If you are not familiar with this concept let me fill you in: you pick a word that you want to reflect the oncoming year and, voila! you are good to go. You can make it as easy or as complicated as you want. Some people read books that are related to their words, some people purchase jewelry, wall hangings that sport their word and then there are those of us who don’t really do anything except pray their word and let God do the rest.

I have been doing this word of the year thing for 6 years now. The catalyst for taking on this process was cancer. The few months following my cancer episode left me shaky and it plopped me full on into fear. I decided to pick the word ‘courage’ for my beacon as 2010 showed itself. Courage, indeed, became my word. That year saw me and the kids drive 6,000 miles by ourselves to visit my parents. It was also the year that the kids and I started going to a new church. Courage abounded through those days.

For other years, my words have been ‘deep,’ ‘be still,’ and ‘grace’ (that one didn’t turn out very good.) My word for 2015 was ‘healing.’ God graciously and abundantly gave me healing this past year in many ways. My heart was healed from anger and bitterness; relationships that were wracked with tension and bitterness were healed. For the most part, it was a year of release.

So.

On to this year.

It did not take me long to find my word. Actually, I found my word in a book title — The Road to Becoming by Jenny Simmons. Now, I have not read the book but I listened to Jenny on a podcast and when I heard the title to her book, it struck a chord with me. The word ‘becoming’ is home to hope, delight, curiosity and just plain old being. I love that word.

Becoming.

Meet my word for 2016.

I could go on and on why this word is so important to me but I will try to keep it short for today and maybe go on at length in future blog posts.

My kids are all teens now (well, they will be by the end of January) and I am seeing the end of this stage of parenting. Five more years and we will not have children living with us any more ( well, maybe not.) Five more years and I will not be homeschooling any more. Then what? What do I do then?

I have been pondering this question at depth in the last few months. I need to be prepared for this next season of life. So I am taking little baby steps towards who I want to become after my kids are gone.

I am also searching and questioning various tenets of my faith. Don’t get me wrong; I am not searching outside of Christianity. My faith in Jesus is as strong, if not stronger, than it ever has been but I am searching within the freedom of Christ about things that I was told when I was a young Christian, that I am now wondering if those things are actually true.

Things are changing quite a bit in my life.

I am Becoming.

This entry was posted in Being Still, faith, living art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

